Members of the SDG 4 Education 2030 High-Level Steering Committee 

Chaired by H.E. Julius Maada Bio, the President of Sierra Leone and Audrey Azoulay, UNESCO’s Director General, HLSC aims to speed country-level progress towards SDG 4. It consists of a Leadership Group composed of 28 members of which 18 represent the 6 regions of the world, with two countries and one inter-governmental regional organization per region. 

Watch co-Chairs UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay and President Bio of Sierra Leone

Member States and Regional Organisations

Western European and North American States 


H.E. Mr Pap Ndiaye, Minister of National Education, Youth and Sports of the French Republic 

Ms Nathalie Nikitenko, Delegate for European and International Relations and Cooperation


H.E. M. João Miguel Marques da Costa, Minister of Education of the Portuguese Republic

Ms Luísa Ucha, Advisor to the Ministry of Education

European Commission 

Ms Jutta Urpilainen, Commissioner for International Partnerships 

Mr Martin Seychell, Deputy Director-General DG INTPA

Eastern European States 


H.E. Ms Anita Muižniece, Minister Education and Science of the Republic of Latvia

Ms Laura Treimane, Counsellor for Education and Science Permanent Representation of the Republic of Latvia to OECD and UNESCO


H.E. Ms Simona Kustec, Minister of Education, Science and Sport of the Republic of Slovenia

Mr Aleš Ojsteršek, Education Development and Quality Office, Ministry of Education, Science and Sport

Council of Europe 

Mr Matjaz Gruden, Director of Democratic Participation

Mr Villano Qiriazi, Head of the Education Department

Latin-American and Caribbean States 


H.E. Mr Jaime Perczyk, Minister of Education of the Argentine Republic

Ms Marina Larrea, National Director of International Cooperation


H.E. Ms Maria Victoria Angulo, Minister of National Education of the Republic of Colombia

Mr Ivan Gómez, Director of International Affairs and Cooperation, Colombian Ministry of Education

Organization of Ibero‐American States for Education, Science and Culture (OEI)

Mr Mariano Jabonero Blanco, Secretary-General

Ms Tamara Díaz, Director of the Education Sector

Asian and Pacific States 


H.E. Dr. Dipu Moni M.P., Minister of Education of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh

H.E. Mr. Khondker Mohammad Talha, Ambassador, Permanent Delegate of Bangladesh to UNESCO


H.E. Mr Huai Jinpeng, Minister of Education of the People's Republic of China

Mr Qin Changwei, Secretary-General, Chinese National Commission for UNESCO

Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO)

Dr Ethel Agnes Pascua-Valenzuela, Director, SEAMEO Secretariat 

Dr Xavapeth Chaphichith,Deputy Director, SEAMEO Secretariat

African States 

Côte d’Ivoire

H.E. Ms Mariatou Kone, Minister of National Education and Literacy of Côte d'Ivoire

M. Kouassi Kouakou Eloi Noël, Inspector and Head of Education, Technical Advisor to the Minister of National Education and Literacy

Sierra Leone - HLSC co-Chair

H.E. Mr Julius Maada Bio, President of the Republic of Sierra Leone (Leaders Group co-Chair)

H.E. Mr David Moinina Sengeh, Minister of Basic and Senior Secondary Education (Sherpa Group co-Chair)

African Union

H.E. Prof. Mohamed Belhocine, Commissioner for Education, Science, Technology and Innovation (ESTI)

Mr Hambani Masheleni, Ag. Head of Education Division

Arab States 


H.E Prof. Wajih Oweis, Minister of Education, Higher Education and Research of the Kingdom of Jordan

Ms Ibtisam Ayoub, Secretary General, Jordan National Commission for Education, Culture and Science


H.E. Mr Chakib Benmoussa, Minister of National Education, Preschool and Sports, President of the National Commission for Education, Science and Culture of the Kingdom of Morocco

Mr Adil Bajja, Director of Strategy, Statistics and Planning


Mr Mohamed Ould Amar, Director General

Mr Hechmi Ardhaoui, Education Expert

Multilateral Organisations/Banks/Funds

UNESCO - Ex Officio Member 

Ms Audrey Azoulay, Director-General (Leaders Group co-Chair)

Ms Stefania Giannini, Assistant Director-General for Education (Sherpa Group co-Chair)


Mr Charles North, Interim Chief Executive Officer

Ms Margarita Focas Licht, Manager, Partnerships Team and Acting Deputy CEO


Mr Mathias Cormann, Secretary-General

Mr Andreas Schleicher, Director for Education and Skills, Special Advisor on Education Policy to the Secretary-General


Ms Catherine M. Russell, Executive Director

Mr Rob Jenkins, Assistant Executive Director Education 

World Bank 

Ms Mari Pangestu, Managing Director, Development Policy & Partnerships

Mr Jaime Saavedra, Global Director Education 

Development Cooperation (Donor) Representative


H.E. Mr José Manuel Albares Bueno, Minister of Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation

Ms María Pilar Moreno Fernández, Head of Unit, Decentralized Cooperation and Education, DG for Sustainable Development Policies, State Secretariat for International Cooperation

Collective Consultation of NGOs on Education 2030 

Mr Refat Sabbah, President, Global Campaign for Education

Ms Helen Dabu, Secretary General, Asia South Pacific Association for Basic and Adult Education

Teacher Organization Representative - Education International 

Mr David Edwards, General Secretary

Ms Antonia Wulff, Director of the Research, Policy and Advocacy Unit

Foundations and Private Sector Representative 

Mr Simon Sommer, Co-Chief Executive Officer, Jacobs Foundation

Ms Camilla Croso, Director, Higher Education Support Program, Open Society Foundations 

Youth and Student Representative 

Ms Kenisha Arora, SDG4Youth Executive Committee Representative

Ms Doris Mwikali, SDG4Youth Executive Committee Representative

Standing invitations to attend HLSC Leadership Group meetings

The Rt. Hon. Gordon Brown, UN Special Envoy for Global Education

Ms Jayathma Wickramanayake, UN Secretary-General’s Envoy on Youth

Watch HLSC Sherpa members explaining why and how to transform education
Remote video URL